Alpha Psi Omega Theater Honor Society Returns to Campus, Welcomes New Members

New members of Alpha Psi Omega, from left: Alec Bise, Michael Cermak, Spencer Theis, Isaac Coronel, Veronica Lake, Lydia Colvin, and Gordon Allison.

Honoring Westminster’s long history of intramural theater, a May 4 ceremony revived the Westminster chapter of Alpha Psi Omega National Theater Honor Society. The ceremony consisted of the official installation of the chapter and the induction of new members. The group was previously active on Westminster’s campus in the early 20th century, becoming inactive in the 1960s. This new chapter consists of students dedicated to campus theater projects through the Performing Arts Club, one-act plays, spring plays, and other theater-related activities throughout the academic year.

The induction ceremony “allowed us to recognize the countless hours of work that our students have put into to extracurricular theater on Westminster’s campus,” says Dr. Nathaniel Leonard, assistant professor of English and Alpha Psi Omega chapter advisor. “Every one of these students has done well over a hundred hours of work solely because of their love of theatrical performance and their commitment to one another. In my opinion, the most exciting part of the Alpha Psi Omega induction ceremony was that we were re-installing an honors society that hasn’t inducted members at Westminster since the nineteen-sixties.” Because of this, Dr. Leonard explains, Veronica Lake and Lydia Colvin are the first two women to ever be inducted into Alpha Psi Omega at Westminster. At the ceremony, Lydia was presented with the inaugural Jabberwocky Award, meant to recognize students for their work behind the scenes.

The new members of Alpha Psi Omega are…

Isaac Coronel

Veronica Lake

Lydia Colvin

Gordon Allison

Alec Bise

Michael Cermak

Spencer Theis

Congratulations to all!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Westminster College

This is the editorial account for Westminster College news team. Please feel free to get in touch if you have any questions or comments.